Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the film festivals community.  

Launched in 1995, relentlessly connecting films to festivals, documenting and promoting festivals worldwide.

Working on an upgrade soon.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes services and offers


Austin Film Festival announces Awardees: Demme, Gilligan, Josephson

1 post / 0 new
Anonymous's picture
Austin Film Festival announces Awardees: Demme, Gilligan, Josephson


Don’t forget the Earlybird Deadline for both the Film Competition and the Screenplay Competition is May 1st – films/scripts must be postmarked by that date to receive the low entry fee.  Submissions prices will go up at 12:01 AM May 2nd (PST).


If you’ve been on the fence about submitting/attending, AFF just announced some really exciting news.  Our press release that was picked up by Variety and Indiewire and several other major publications is below:


Austin Film Festival (AFF) is thrilled to announce accomplished filmmaker Jonathan Demme as their 2013 recipient of the “Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking” Award.  Demme is best known for directing THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, which won him an Academy Award for Best Director, and critically acclaimed films PHILADELPHIA and RACHEL GETTING MARRIED, among others.


Vince Gilligan, creator of the highly acclaimed and popular television series Breaking Bad and writer/executive producer of the hit series The X-Files, will be honored as this year’s “Outstanding Television Writer” Awardee. His other credits include the Fox Television series The Lone Gunmen, which he co-created, and the features HANCOCK, HOME FRIES and WILDER NAPALM.


Film and television producer, Barry Josephson, will receive the Festival’s inaugural “Heart of Film” Award for his many contributions to film and television, and service to the screenwriting industry.  In addition to executive producing the popular FOX television drama Bones, Josephson’s recent film projects include, LIFE AS WE KNOW IT, released by Warner Brothers, TURN, soon to be released by AMC network, and the international Walt Disney hit film, ENCHANTED.


Demme, Gilligan, and Josephson will accept their awards at the Festival’s annual award luncheon held on October 26th at the Austin Club.


“In our 20th Anniversary year, we are asserting, that we are, and have always been, the foremost writers’ festival,” said Barbara Morgan, AFF Co-Founder and Executive Director.  “We are beyond proud to be honoring filmmaking legend Jonathan Demme, TV’s most sought-after creator, Vince Gilligan, and acclaimed producer, Barry Josephson – and we have many great surprises ahead.”


The 2013 Conference panelists also read like a ‘who’s who’ of Hollywood’s A-list filmmakers.  Attending this year’s festival are John August (writer CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY, BIG FISH), Alec Berg (writer/executive producer Curb Your Enthusiasm), Peter Craig (writer THE TOWN), Leslie Dixon (writer OVERBOARD), Todd Garner (Broken Road Productions), Akiva Goldsman (writer A BEAUTIFUL MIND, I AM LEGEND), Rian Johnson (writer BRICK, LOOPER), Franklin Leonard (creator of The Black List), Ashley Miller (writer THOR, X-MEN: FIRST CLASS), Jeff Nichols (writer MUD, TAKE SHELTER), Terry Rossio (writer SHREK, PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN franchise), Rob Thomas (creator/writer Veronica Mars), and Beau Willimon (writer/executive producer House of Cards).


Austin Film Festival annually recognizes outstanding filmmakers and screenwriters for their consistently exceptional body of work with the Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking Award and the Outstanding Television Writer Award.  Previous Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking award recipients include Danny Boyle, Frank Darabont, Ron Howard, John Lasseter, Sydney Pollack, Robert Rodriguez, and Oliver Stone; Outstanding Television Writer Awardees include David Chase, Mitchell Hurwitz, David Milch, Garry Shandling, and David Simon.





Jordan Arroyo

Film Department Intern

Austin Film Festival