Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the film festivals community.  

Launched in 1995, relentlessly connecting films to festivals, documenting and promoting festivals worldwide.

A brand new website will soon be available. Covid-19 is not helping, stay safe meanwhile.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes services and offers



All the Buzz on Film Festival Awards, Celebrity Tributes and the Film Awards Season.

English I en Français I Oscar


Coppola to present Film Direction Award to Jane Campion at SFFILM Awards Night


Coppola to present Jane Campion; Jon Bernthal to present Reinaldo Marcus Green; Alice Wu to present Maggie Gyllenhaal; and Chris Columbus to present Oscar Isaac


Photo: (L-R) Director: Francis Ford Coppola, Actor: Jon Bernthal, Director: Alice Wu, Director: Chris Columbus



Francis Ford Coppola will present Jane Campion with The Irving M. Levin Award for Film Direction; Jon Bernthal Will present the SFFILM Special Award for Distinctive Voice to Reinaldo Marcus Green; Alice Wu will present Maggie Gyllenhaal with The Kanbar Award for Storytelling; Chris Columbus will present Oscar Isaac with the SFFILM Award for Acting

SFFILM today announced presenters for the annual 2021 SFFILM Awards Night: Academy Award Winner Francis Ford Coppola, Jon Bernthal, Alice Wu and Chris Columbus. The presenters join the previously announced honorees Jane Campion (Irving M. Levin Award for Film Direction), Reinaldo Marcus Green (SFFILM Special Award for Distinctive Voice), Maggie Gyllenhaal (Kanbar Award for Storytelling) and Oscar Isaac (SFFILM Award for Acting) for the highly anticipated event honoring exemplary achievement in film craft. This year's celebration will take place live, Monday, December 6 at San Francisco’s YBCA Forum.


SFFILM Awards Night supports the organization’s year-round work to discover and nurture the next generation of film artists, not only through the SFFILM Festival and other screenings and events, but also through its SFFILM Education and SFFILM Makers initiatives. The program recognizes the singular careers of some of the most remarkable figures in contemporary cinema with special tributes made by high-profile presenters.


“We are delighted to have such exceptional artists presenting our Awards this year. With their own bodies of extraordinary work, Jon, Chris, Francis, and Alice will be part of the evening’s inspiration to the next generations of storytellers that we seek to champion,” said Anne Lai, Executive Director of SFFILM.



Irving M. Levin Award for Film Direction: Jane Campion

Presented by: Francis Ford Coppola

The Irving M. Levin Award for Film Direction is presented each year to one of the masters of world cinema,given in memory the founder of the San Francisco International Film Festival in 1957. Past recipients include Chloé Zhao (2020), Marielle Heller (2019), Steve McQueen (2018), Kathryn Bigelow (2017), Mira Nair (2016), Guillermo del Toro (2015), Richard Linklater (2014) Philip Kaufman (2013), Kenneth Branagh (2012), Oliver Stone (2011), Walter Salles (2010), Francis Ford Coppola (2009), Mike Leigh (2008), Spike Lee (2007), and Werner Herzog (2006), among others.


SFFILM Special Award for Distinctive Voice: Reinaldo Marcus Green

Presented by: Jon Bernthal 

SFFILM Special Award is designed to recognize an achievement that reflects the organization’s belief in the enduring power, beauty, and social impact of film. This year, SFFILM wishes to highlight the work of filmmaker Reinaldo Marcus Green for his distinctive voice as a filmmaker.


Kanbar Award for Storytelling: Maggie Gyllenhaal

Presented by: Alice Wu

The Kanbar Award for Storytelling acknowledges the critical importance that storytelling plays in the creation of outstanding films. The award is named in honor of Maurice Kanbar, a longtime member of the board of directors of SFFILM, a San Francisco film commissioner and a philanthropist with a particular interest in supporting independent filmmakers. Past recipients include Aaron Sorkin (2020), Lulu Wang (2019), Boots Riley (2018), Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (2017), Tom McCarthy (2016), Paul Schrader (2015), Stephen Gaghan (2014), Eric Roth (2013), David Webb Peoples (2012), Frank Pierson (2011), and James Schamus (2010), among others.


SFFILM Award for Acting (formerly called The Peter J. Owens Award for Acting): Oscar Isaac

Presented by: Chris Columbus 

The SFFILM Award for Acting (formerly called The Peter J. Owens Award for Acting) has been awarded since 1996 and honors a performer whose work exemplifies brilliance, independence, and integrity. Past recipients include Glenn Close, Adam Driver, Amy Adams, Kate Winslet, Ellen Burstyn, Richard Gere, Jeremy Irons, Harrison Ford, Judy Davis, Terence Stamp, Robert Duvall, Robert Redford, and Robin Williams, among others.



SFFILM is a nonprofit organization with a mission to champion the world's finest films and filmmakers through programs anchored in and inspired by the spirit and values of the San Francisco Bay Area. Presenter of the San Francisco International Film Festival, SFFILM is a year-round organization delivering screenings and events to more than 75,000 film lovers and media education programs tomore than 15,000 students, teachers, and families annually. In addition to its public programs, SFFILM supports the careers of independent filmmakers from the Bay Area and beyond with grants, residencies, and other career development opportunities.




The Bulletin Board

> The Bulletin Board Blog
> Partner festivals calling now
> Call for Entry Channel
> Film Showcase
 The Best for Fests

Meet our Fest Partners 

Following News

Interview for Roger Corman documentary The Pope of Pop Cinema

With Roger Corman, Myriam Brough and Bertrand Tessier

Interview with AFM Director


Interview with Cannes Marche du Film Director


Interview Red Carpet King Richard Will SMITH dailies live coverage from

> Live from India 
> Live from LA
Beyond Borders
> Locarno
> Toronto
> Venice
> San Sebastian

> Tallinn Black Nights 
> Red Sea International Film Festival

> Palm Springs Film Festival
> Kustendorf
> Rotterdam
> Sundance
Santa Barbara Film Festival SBIFF
> Berlin / EFM 
> Fantasporto
Houston WorldFest 
Cannes / Marche du Film 



Useful links for the indies:

Big files transfer
> Celebrities / Headlines / News / Gossip
> Clients References
> Crowd Funding
> Deals

> Festivals Trailers Park
> Film Commissions 
> Film Schools
> Financing
> Independent Filmmaking
> Motion Picture Companies and Studios
> Movie Sites
> Movie Theatre Programs
> Music/Soundtracks 
> Posters and Collectibles
> Professional Resources
> Screenwriting
> Search Engines
> Self Distribution
> Search sites – Entertainment
> Short film
> Streaming Solutions
> Submit to festivals
> Videos, DVDs
> Web Magazines and TV


> Other resources

+ SUBSCRIBE to the weekly Newsletter
+ Connecting film to fest: Marketing & Promotion
Special offers and discounts
Festival Waiver service

User images

About AwardsWatch

(International Media Resources)

All the Buzz on Film Festival Awards, Celebrity Tributes and the Film Awards Season.

United States

View my profile
Send me a message